Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence addon

I’m brand new to OF and come from CS more than art but has anyone looked into a ML or AI addon to do basic regression/classification training and prediction? I have some experience with it and decent C++. I think it could be pretty useful… Maybe it’s already in the works? Any interest?

-Jackson

Haven’t heard a of addon for that yet.
But seems that OpenCV 2.0 have this feature? Maybe we can integrate that into the existing ofxOpenCv?

OpenCV does have a lot of good ML/AI algorithms in it. It’d be great to see more of them wrapped. http://opencv.willowgarage.com/documentation/cpp/ml.-machine-learning.html

More than wrapping, what would be really helpful is examples. I think a bigger issue than not having access to the algorithms is just people not knowing what you can do with them!

[quote author=“JacksonM”]I’m brand new to OF and come from CS more than art but has anyone looked into a ML or AI addon to do basic regression/classification training and prediction? I have some experience with it and decent C++. I think it could be pretty useful… Maybe it’s already in the works? Any interest?

-Jackson[/quote]

I think there definitely would be of interest - do you think you could explain further what your imagining? Would it be something general or a set of tools tailored to specific problems?

Thanks!
Theo

I’m not sure yet. I just saw all the ML stuff in openCV 2.0 and that looks like more than enough, but it would be nice to wrap it up. I like OF a lot because it’s so user friendly and you don’t need to know anything about openGl to do graphics. I’d like to have the same thing for some ML stuff. I need to look into what openCV has to offer and get back to you, but I was planning on something generic. Do you know how much of openCV is in the lib provided in OF. (i.e. is the ML stuff already in there?)