Live Coding or REPL for linux

Hi I am new to OF from processing. The build times for even simple things are a little bit annoying. Is there a recommended ‘live coding’ or REPL available for OF?

I’m looking for something general-use. Cyril is a bit too specific and it’s own language to boot so its not what I’m really looking for. I know there are a few options out there, but what I could find is either old or Mac specific.

If there are no options is there a way to speed up build and compilation?

you could try Gamuza or ofxLua:

Thanks

Please pardon my ignorance, but the only way to get what I’m looking for is to use another language with API bindings? The only problem with Gamuza is the current version doesn’t support Linux yet.

Do people do things to speed up compilation or do most OF users simply code, compile and run their app?

If you’re coding on a Raspberry Pi or other resource constrained device, then there are really nice techniques for speeding up compilation (https://github.com/jvcleave/openFrameworksRPiWorkspace as one example) but in general I think people use OF in the way you’re describing: code, compile, run. If there’s something you need to see realtime feedback on then you can always parameterize it and create a gui to modify values. Another technique is to do a lot of your graphics work in GLSL, which can be reloaded at runtime without affecting the program running it. Combining that with a filewatcher for textures, models, and a GUI gives you a lot of control.

Thanks for educating me on that aspect of openFrameworks Josh.

With respects to the GLSL concept are you inferring that I use an addon like this https://github.com/tado/ofxGLSLSandbox to tweak GLSL shaders and graphics?

You can, you can also see examples of live-reloading shaders in the examples/gl/vboMeshDrawInstancedExample example