Layered video, alter opacity of video when motion detected- where to start?

Hi,

I am working on my first OF project and first C++ project. I want to create an interactive projection with two layers of video. I want both layers of video to loop and be projected one on top of the other but I want the top layer to only be visible when a camera positioned towards the viewers of the projection detects blobs or movement. Is it possible?

I would appreciate any suggestions as to other projects to look at for learning how to get started or tutorials I should do. Also, like I said, this is my first time with OF and C++, can anyone recommend any books for learning for a very beginner? I mean VERY beginner. I got the Programming Interactivity book and am starting that now but would like any suggestions for other good places to learn OF from the bottom up.

Thank you very much in advance for any suggestions to point me in the right direction.
-mbvcloud

Check the examples on apps/addonsExamples/opencvExample, also check the apps/examples/movieGrabberExample, and finally check apps/examples/moviePlayerExample this should give you a quick overview on how you can achieve your goal :slight_smile:

OK! Thanks very much for your reply and the info. I appreciate it.

Some further thoughts on alejandro’s tips about projects…

You probably want to make your top layer have a blend mode that allows for alpha. By detecting the difference between current and past frame of a given blob in one or all vectors (eg, right/left, or right/left,up/down,front/back), with CV, the resulting value can be used to manipulate the alpha value of the top layer. You’ll probably also want to smooth the data or have some kind of trigger envelope so that it doesn’t look really stuttery.

I’ve done something similar to this, taking the amount of motion in a camera and mapping it to the alpha channel of a video.

The examples Alejandro mentioned should get you started displaying the videos.