Key input issues with xcode 14, m1 macbook, openframeworks

Hi!
I’m a total beginner in coding, for uni we started working with c++ in xcode and openframeworks.
The biggest mistake I probably made was to buy a m1 macbook pro before uni, thinking it would have no issues.
Surprise; it has many of them.

My current problem is, I have a working code for so called “amiga balls”, when i click the left mouse button one appears, with every click another randomised ball will appear. And when i click the right mouse button, the first created ball should disappear. The code works in windows with visual studio. It sadly does not work on my macbook with the m1 chip.

the code is:

void ofApp::mousePressed(int xMouse, int yMouse, int button){

if (button==0){
radius.push_back(ofRandom(20, 400));
facets.push_back(ofRandom(2, 20));
//all the other variables for the amiga balls to be created
}

if (button==2){
radius.erase(radius.begin());
facets.erase(facets.begin());
//again for all the other variables
}

Is there anything I have to change to make it work on my laptop? Are there any different commands?
In another task I had to use

glLineWidth();

instead of

ofSetLineWidth();

to change the width of the line I wanted to create because ofSetLineWidth just didn’t work.

Hey @xaivu , there are some options in System Settings > Trackpad > Secondary Click that affect the behavior. ofApp::mousePressed() works as it should with the option “Click with Two Fingers” on my m1 mba.

Also there are some threads in the forum about line width, openGL versions, and etc. There are some addons that help with drawing thick lines if you need them (like ofxFatLines by roymacdonald). And the Cairo renderer in OF can be used to draw thick lines according to zach in this post.

hmm depending on the OS right click can sometimes come in as ‘1’.
An easy solution would be to change the line:

if (button==2){

to:

else{

Hope that helps!
Theo

sadly that didn’t work : (