Interactive floor project

hi,

i use OF quite sometimes but i am still consider new to this environment. I am a final year student of a Art school and think of doing interactive floor project. :-\ wondering how am i going to start for this project… any tutorial or book to recommend?

If you already use OF you’re probably (at least somewhat) comfortable with c++, IDEs etc, so a good start for your interactive floor could be looking at the OpenCV example in your OF installation.

In this example you’ll learn how to find contours (of a certain size) inside video stream and this kind of operation is backbone of most interactive floors.
I don’t know what you need to achieve for your installation, but you’ll probably want to place your camera on the ceiling and look for the shape of the people below; it will be easier if you use infrared (a modified ps3eye or kinect are cheap, reliable options), because you’ll get cleaner images and you won’t have to worry about visible light conditions.

A very good book to get started in this world is Programming-Interactivity.

thank you for your reply. i will look for the kinect and for the projector, any specify brand or requirement?

the short answer is: no, any projector will do.
the more articulated answer is: is mostly depends on your requirements. Basically the 2 most important variables are light and covered surface.

For light: in my experience if you’re working in an indoor, shady environment, 2500 lumen is going to be enough. (also: in most cases it’s easier and cheaper to make your environment darker/more controlled than to try to create something that will handle every possible condition).

For surface: it’s a combination of factors: