Installation experience on ubuntu 22.04 and vscode

I am new to ubuntu 22.04 system. I started using a little over a month ago and still don’t know much. But I want to describe the steps that I had to take to install and start using openframeworks. When installing according to the instructions, I encountered errors that spoke about the lack of some libraries. I’ll just list the commands I typed:

sudo apt-get install libgstreamer*

sudo apt-get install libcurl4-openssl-dev

sudo apt-get install pkg-config

sudo apt-get install libglfw3 libglfw3-dev

An error occurred: "uriparser/Uri.h: No such file or directory"
I decided with the help of advice from this forum (I don’t remember where it met …):

Jump to:

…/OF/libs/uriparser/include/uriparser

Copy the entire folder containing the header files (Uri.h).

And paste it in:

…/OF/libs/openFrameworks/utils

and then another series of commands followed … :

sudo apt-get install libxcursor-dev

sudo apt-get install libxi-dev

sudo apt-get install libxinerama-dev

sudo apt install libxi-dev

sudo apt autoremove libxi-dev

sudo apt install libxi-dev

sudo apt install libgtk-3-dev

and again:

sudo sh ./install_dependencies.sh

Then openframeworks and the generator were compiled.

to work, I generated a project:

screenshot

The project can be opened in vscode, but there were squiggly lines in the c_cpp_properties.json file:

I had to change “5” to “11” in the file paths:

“/usr/include/c++/11”,
“/usr/include/c++/11/backward”,
“/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/11/include”,
and similar…

also file underscores also remain “cairo”, “curl”, “glew” and…
but this does not prevent the project from compiling(just commented them out)…

and:

“intelliSenseMode”: “linux-clang-x64”,
“compilerPath”: “/usr/bin/clang++”,

There is also a permissions issue - then in vscode I do

sudo make

So far everything seems to be…

1 Like