Install ofxAudioUnit on iOS

Hi all. I’m very much a beginner here, I’m trying to get the ofxAudioUnit examples to run on iOS (0.8.0), within Xcode 4.6.3.

I’ve added the AudioUnit and CoreAudioKit frameworks as described here https://github.com/admsyn/ofxAudioUnit, but when I build I get the error:

AudioToolbox/AudioUnitUtilities.h, file not found  

I have since included the AudioToolbox framework in the same way, but still the same error. I’ve tried including these frameworks both for iOS, and for Desktop, but still get the error, despite the file being visible in the navigator window.

I’ve noticed the file does NOT actually exist in the AudioToolkit framework for iOS, could it be that somehow the iOS framework is included by default, overriding any additional frameworks that I add?

Has anyone out there had any success getting ofxAudioUnits to work on iOS?

Many thanks

+1 on this one! would be great to be able to use ofxAudioUnit on iOS, i’m also getting the same compile issues as amigolargo…

Anyone has made progress with this?

Yes I’ve started an iOS branch here. It should compile and run, but it’s not finished yet. I think the missing link at the moment is just that the AVAudioSession needs to be initialized.

Also, for the record, it’s much easier to get my attention directly by taking this directly to Github :smile: There’s an issue open here that you can chime in on if you like.

As-is, the port should let you do output, but input and DSP won’t work yet. The input should be relatively straightforward if anyone would like to take on the task of filling in configureInputDevice() here (there’s code that does roughly the same thing in OF already, here).

Thanks Adam, that’s great news! I’ll make sure to talk to raise any other issues on github directly :slight_smile:

I’ve succesfully created a new empty project with ofxAudioUnit as an addon, the code compiles and runs but no sound at all, no matter what objects and connections I try.