Image Loading Performance

My coworker and I developed a project on our mac laptops and I am now moving it over to what I was hoping would be its final install location - on a quad core linux box. There is a huge performance problem and I am hoping for some advice on pin pointing the problem.

On my 16 gb 10.11 mac laptop it is running at 30 fps and then when I move it over it is running at 9 fps. I know exactly what line of code is causing it:

frameImage.load(activeImages->at(loopLevelFrame));

This line is loading an image from a list of file paths every frame. I am new at sourcing components and installing graphics drivers. Are any of my specs red flags? Should I dive into trying out installing other graphics card drivers? I have already tried loading all the images in setup, but there are too many (9000).

Thanks in advance for any help and sorry if this isn’t exactly an OF problem.

Here are all my specs:
System Hardware: Processor: AMD Athlon X4 840 Quad Core @ 3.10GHz (4 Cores),
Motherboard: MSI A88XI AC (MS-7913) v1.0,
Chipset: AMD Family 15h ,
Memory: 16384MB,
Disk: 240GB Western Digital WDS240G1G0A-,
Graphics: AMD Radeon RX 470/480 4096MB,
Ubuntu 17.04

(Also the computer is partitioned - half windows and half linux)

Hi! How much do all the images occupy? If they fit in a RAM disk you could try using one.

Assuming the images are JPG, and that each image takes <1Mb, 9000 x 1 Mb means 9 Gb. Not sure how much RAM you need to run your system, but since you have 16Gb you could create a 9Gb ram drive, put all images in that drive, and make your program load them from the new location. It will not work if your images are much heavier than that (because you won’t have enough RAM to load them in).

Note that the difference between using this technique and loading all images into OF is that OF will uncompress the images once loaded. So a 1920x1080 RGB image, even if the JPG occupies 1Mb, once in memory it takes at least 6Mb (1920x1080x3).