How would I control the playing of several videos?

My apologies if this is already covered in the forum, I looked for a while and couldn’t see a similar question.

I have never used C++, but just installed OF with dev-c++ on a winxp PC. I’m trying to write a code to play videos based on the keyboard letter pressed, just to get used to the programming language. Does anyone have tips for getting started?

Thanks,
Nick

UPDATE:

I compiled a working code to play two videos whether the “a” or “s” key is pressed, and it pauses them when released. I used the loadmovie command, but the videos get choppy when both keys are released and pressed quickly. Would this be my coding or my ram? Also I tried to setTexture(false) when keyReleased, but after compiling no video showed up at all.

Hello everybody,

I want to do something like this too but I have a different problem. I’m new in C++ dev and I just installed OF 3.4.2.
I want to make a fullscreen interactive movie, using hundreds of short videos, but I don’t want any pause between each video, it has to be very fast. If the user don’t do anything, the movie continues normally.
If I preload all the videos in the start of the program, the ram is overflowed and of course it doesn’t work. So I wrote something like this, to try to preload the next video during the playing of the first one :

at start:

vid1.loadMovie("vid1.mov");  
vidTemp.loadMovie("vid2.mov");  
vid1.play();  

when keyPressed :

vid1=vidTemp;  
vid1.play();  
vidTemp.loadMovie("vid1.mov");  

when keyReleased :

vid1=vidTemp;  
vid1.play();  
vidTemp.loadMovie("vid2.mov");  

But then the program crashes :frowning: I’m sure that is because of the loading of vidTemp during the playing of vid1. But I don’t know how to fix this.
In any case, have someone a solution to play a lot of videos, without any latency between each video ?

Thank you very very much :smiley:

nabontra, maniaxm - can you post a zip with the movies and code?