How to start a thread

Hi, guys.

I’m still not able to work with threads (C++ newbie here…). I couldn’t figure out its workings by looking at examples.
So, If I could get help to make it work on a simple situation like this:

Say I have a method called **printOut ** that prints “I am a secondary thread”. How do I make a call for this method, using the space bar?
So, everytime one hits the space bar, the printOut method gets called to run on a secondary thread and when done, the secondary thread is killed.

Thanks!

Alexandre

[quote author=“AlexandreRangel”]Hi, guys.

I’m still not able to work with threads (C++ newbie here…). I couldn’t figure out its workings by looking at examples.
So, If I could get help to make it work on a simple situation like this:

Say I have a method called **printOut ** that prints “I am a secondary thread”. How do I make a call for this method, using the space bar?
So, everytime one hits the space bar, the printOut method gets called to run on a secondary thread and when done, the secondary thread is killed.

Thanks!

Alexandre[/quote]

hi alexandre, Threads are actually OS dependant, I thought there was a general way but it seems there isn’t. Personally, i have done it in linux, so i could help you there.

but more importantly, if the example you are giving is similar to what you actually need, then you won’t need threads ata ll. why don’t you describe your problem in more detail?

you could also try the boost libs which i hear have thread support for different OSses: http://www.boost.org/doc/libs/1-35-0

Hi Alexandre,

there is a cross-platform thread addon provided with openFrameworks FAT. have a look at the ofxThread example, in particular the threadedObject.