How to playback videos on the GPU

Hello,
I’m just beginning work on a project that involves playback of many video files simultaneously. This seems to be a relatively common thing on the forums, but I’m having trouble gleaning much from the threads that I’ve read. However, this one in particular is full of a lot of useful tips that I am trying to emulate:

Zach identifies QuickTime as a potential bottle neck, and therefore recommends pre-loading a bunch of videos as ofTextures so that they can be played back using the GPU rather than having to be decoded every frame by QuickTime. I’m currently trying to test this with one video file and a vector of ofTextures, but I can’t seem to work out the sequence of events that need to happen. From my understanding, shouldn’t I be able to:

1. Load a video file into an ofVideoPlayer object
  2. Get the total number of frames contained in the video
  3. Iterate through each frame in the video file.
  4. On each iteration, get the pixels in the current frame, allocate sufficient memory in a new ofTexture, load the pixels into the texture, and then push the texture into the vector.

I’ve tried different methods of completing this task list, but I still can’t figure out how to iterate through the frames of the video. player.nextFrame() doesn’t seem to do anything when I call it in setup(). Here is my most recent attempt:

myApp.cpp:

#include "ofApp.h"

ofVideoPlayer player;
int numFrames;
int width;
int height;
ofTexture frame;
vector <ofTexture> frames;
ofPixels pixels;
//--------------------------------------------------------------
void ofApp::setup(){
    player.load("test.mov");
    numFrames = player.getTotalNumFrames();
    width = player.getWidth();
    height = player.getHeight();

for(int i = 0; i < numFrames; i++){
        player.nextFrame();
        ofPixels framePix = player.getPixels();
        ofTexture newFrame;
        newFrame.allocate(framePix);
        newFrame.loadData(framePix);