How to implement a simple Projection Masked project

Hi all

I’m brand new to coding and openFrameworks. I’ve been working on getting my Raspberry Pi 2 setup and operational (success!) and then going through the tutorials here and many of the examples and addon examples. I’ve learned a lot, and now I’m ready to focus on doing a specific project.

What I would like to do, is create random visualizations (using shaders or movies), and to have those play through a PNG mask. My thought is, to setup a very simple pseudo-projection mapping. I would create the PNG ahead of time based on the physical space / surfaces being used, import that into the project, and then run it. Given that, I have a few questions:

1. Does something similar to this already exist, and if so can someone point me in the right direction?
  2. If not, what do I need to focus on to learn how to do this? I am thinking tutorials on creating your own shaders, probably open gles, and learning what is the best way to create a mask with a PNG image.
  3. Are there other tutorials / resources available online that people can recommend?

Thanks in advance for any help provided, :smile:

Check out our simple RPI2 projection mapping software called kibio https://github.com/kibio/kibio

Its all OF.

It’s a work in progress, but might be a nice place to start. PNG and live drawn masks are already implemented. We just ran a workshop on it here in Chicago and it went quite well!

Hey, sorry to dredge this topic back up, but I finally got around to Kibio today. I’m having a few issues compiling it, can you offer any guidance?

int main()
{
ofGLWindowSettings windowSettings;
windowSettings.setGLVersion(3,3);
ofCreateWindow(windowSettings);

ofRunApp(new Kibio::SimpleApp());

}

The errors from the Pi when it tries to compile are:

src/main.cpp:31:5: error: ‘ofGLWindowSettings’ was not declared in this scope
src/main.cpp:31:24: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘windowSettings’