How to change AudioInput example to get input from a mp3 file?

If I need to modify the AudioInput to read from music files (mp3, wav,…) instread of mic input? Could I use ofSoundPlayer to read local music files?
I’m new to audio processing and confused about ofSoundGetSpectrum and audioIn functions.

To play audio from a file, you don’t need AudioInput/AudioOuput. Look at the SoundPlayer examples. AudioInout is specifically for real-time input from a microphone.

Basically it’s:

ofSoundPlayer player;  
player.load("sound.wav"); //load the file you want to play  
player.play(); //plays file  

My question is: how to if I use ofSoundPlayer to read from music files, then what functions could I use to do the same job as ofsoundStreamsetup and audioIn? I mean parameters like the buffersize and the * input. I don’t know how to get these use ofSoundPlayer.

You need to read the sound file in blocks of samples at the necessary rate.

I attach a couple of source files with the functions to read a .wav file (I have them from a long time and I don’t know the original author)

In your setup method you can do something like this to switch between input capture streaming and file streaming:

#ifdef SAMPLE  
sample.load("sample.wav");  
sample.setLooping(true);  
sample.play();	  
sampleRate = sample.getSampleRate();  
ofSoundStreamSetup(1, 0, this, sampleRate, BUFFER_SIZE, 4);	  
#else  
sampleRate = 44100;  
ofSoundStreamSetup(1, 1, this, sampleRate, BUFFER_SIZE, 4);  
#endif  

If you use a input capture stream you can copy the input samples in a buffer:

for (int i = 0; i < bufferSize; i++) sampleBuffer[i] = input[i];  

And then in the audio requested callback function you can make your processing and write to the output. And in the case of reading from a file, you fill the buffer reading the required number of samples from the file:

#ifdef SAMPLE  
for (int i = 0; i < bufferSize; i++)  
{  
// mono  
if(sample.getChannels() == 1) {  
sampleBuffer[i] = sample.update();