How do you use git for versioning an oF project?

I’ve been banging my head on this question for a little bit, and I’d be curious to hear how people deal with versionining a oF project with git. (I’m new with git and may be missing something obvious)

To give some context, here’s an idea of my current oF setup:

• apps/myProjectA/app1
  • apps/myProjectA/app2
  • apps/anotherUnreleatedProjectB/…
  • addons/addon_I_always_use
  • addons/addon_I_customized_for_projectA
  • addons/addon_for_projectB

So basically I have my “goto” oF disitribution with a bunch of projects in it, I want to version on git one specific project and at least the addons I’ve modified for it. What would you do in this situation ? My personal ideas:

• Create a new fork/copy of oF and git the whole stuff

• Pro: self contained

• Con: code duplication, especially for addons I may re-use elsewhere, makes a giant git repo

• Create lots of repository for all the individual component

• Pro: clean for the project file

• Con: get a bit messy for addons shared accross multiple repo (but they can have more than one “origin” address), gets complicated to make sure all the dependencies are up to date ? ( I guess there are also dependencies manager, but yuk)

• Look like submodules could also help resolving dependencies

• Create only one repo for my addons and app that lives within my oF distribution, and manually select the files I want to export

• Pro: easy to pull all the dependencies at once

• Con: will become quite a mess if I do that for multiple project

• Hardlinks my addons at /apps/myProject/addons/… and git that

• Not sure how well that would work…

Well in advance, thanks for those who share their opinion about that, and I’ll reply/edit this post to tell you about the solution I went for.

ps. For more context, I’m on windows, using atlassian’s stash and visual studio. But ideally this post will serve beyond my own case…