how do I use two-dimensional arrays?

So yeah I’m really new to programming in general just started a couple of months ago.

But anyway, I’m having trouble using 2d arrays in openframeworks (mainly because I can’t really figure out how to use them)

so what I’m having trouble with is, I’m trying to create a map using a 2d array.
Not sure on how to do it but this is how I tried to atleast

int the Setup() part I would write:

int w = 1;  
int R = 2;  

int Map[8][8] = {  
{ w,w,w,w,w,w,w,w },  
{ w,w,w,w,w,w,w,w },  
{ R,R,R,R,w,w,w,w },  
{ w,w,w,R,w,R,R,R },  
{ w,R,R,R,w,R,w,w },  
{ w,R,w,w,w,R,w,w },  
{ w,R,R,R,R,R,w,w },  
{ w,w,w,w,w,w,w,w }};  

And then in the draw() part I would use it like:

for(int i = 0; i < 8; i++)  
{  
    for(int j = 0; j < 8; j++)  
    {  
	if(Map[i][j] == w)  
	{  
             drawSomething;  
        }  

if(Map[i][j] == R)  
	{  
             drawSomethingElse;  
        }  
     }  
}  

But for some reason when I compile it, all the values and everything gets turned into some kind of trash value or whatever, even tried changing the R and W to static const but they still change / doesn’t get set as if the compiler doesn’t even run through the Setup() part.

Anyways would love an answer on what’s wrong or rather how to use 2d arrays properly.
Thanks!

hey darkoccisor,

welcome to the openFrameworks forums!

i wrote a reply to a topic about 2D arrays about four years ago, try this link:

http://forum.openframeworks.cc/t/arrays-for-c+±newbies/918/2

cheers!
damian

Thank you for the welcome and the quick reply.

Yeah I actually read your post before I posted but it only made me more confused so I thought I’d make a new post and ask again in hope for some simpler answers :slight_smile:
(I’m bad with pointers, didn’t really study them that much yet) :stuck_out_tongue:

And since I also wanted to use the 2d arrays as a way to figure out the X Y coords as in: