Help with TextViews

What I am trying to do is allow a user to place notes (in the form of UITextViews) on the screen, and be able to place any number of them. I am not an experienced programmer for the iPhone, so I need a little input here. It will actually be an iPad app, and what I want to know are these things:

How do I set up, allocate, and use a UITextField in C++?

How can I create an arbitrary number of them?

How do I manipulate their contents and positions?

Any help is greatly appreciated, and if anyone has good examples on using Objective-C objects like the UITextView object in C++, that would also be of much help.

As far as I know it’s not possible to interface with UIKit objects using c++. They are all objective-c classes and should be talked to in objective-c. It it possible to mix objective-c and c++ though, so if you want to keep things clean it’s a good idea to write a c++ wrapper for the objective-c object you want to use. So you write your own c++ class, but change the extension to .mm to allow mixing c++ and objective-c, and in that class you write methods which control the objective-c class. Because you’re writing it yourself you can choose which functionality you need and how you want to interface with that from within your application. You’d write the wrapper as if you were writing a ‘pure’ obj-c iphone app, so you’d have to read up on that I guess.

You can also choose to change testApp.cpp to testApp.mm and forget about the whole wrapping thing, but it might get messy. If you do so, make a clear distinction between your obj-c and c++ or you will get lost somewhere in between… :slight_smile:

Thanks for the clarification. It’s not that I mind using C++ mixed with Obj-C, I was just wondering about how exactly one would initialize and use Obj-C objects in C++. Is it done just like in C++, or is there a differing syntax? That’s what I was wondering.