Help with OF/Sublime setup for non-programmers?

I’m just starting out with OF coming from a background in Processing. I’m NOT a programmer but a designer who likes to dabble in generative graphics and creative coding.

My weapon of choice for a long time has been Sublime Text (the Processing IDE became too limited, Xcode/Eclipse felt to feature-rich for my skill level) and I’d very much like to keep using it for my endeavours in OF. I’ve read through several posts (on this forum and out in the web) describing how to set up OF with Sublime but have gotten my brain tangled up in build systems, make in terminal, setting up clang (which seemingly is discontinued?), not understanding the error messages, etc. I kinda understand the elements that are involved, but obviously still lack some knowledge and am now completely stumped. But I feel that with just that one non-programmer-friendly instructions I’d manage to get things up and running. (I’ve tried asking on stackoverflow, but the answer has been an elitist “if you don’t know these things, it’s obviously not for you”.)

Thanks for anyone willing to let us newbies see the light!

(I’m using Sublime Text 3 on Yosemite 10.10.1)

Have you tried ofSketch (https://github.com/olab-io/ofSketch). It might be a good option for that in-between space. The editor will continue to get better. If it doesn’t turn out to be a good fit for you, I’d be very curious to know what features would help it move into a better “middle” space as that’s the space we’re trying to fit into.

Well, sublime is a text editor, so I believe your trouble is openFrameworks build and link itself.

Have you successfully build openFrameworks? If so, you could run the projectGenerator to create an empty project and then use sublime text with the generated files. And then compile on a side terminal or adding a build system on sublime (I have no experience on that, but should be simple to get a basic make and run or similar)