Hello! oF newbie/student here!

Hello! Just saw people are saying hi so I thought I’d introduce myself too :slight_smile:

I’ve recently started my masters studies at Aalto University, Helsinki. Moved to this country a month ago from India. I’ve done some coding in Processing before (mostly generative stuff, not really any image processing and/or data handling and/or “complicated” stuff) but I’m getting into oF because well, I think it’s more powerful (probably debatable) and runs on iOS (fact!). Complete newbie in C++ so might have some stupid questions as some points, please bear with me!

On that note, any immediate suggestions to someone coming in from the Processing world? I’ve downloaded the oF book and will be following that for my learning process - any other resources I should check out?

I’m interested in audio visual interactive/installation work and data visualisation. And well, maybe some hardware stuff (Arduino, RPi) as well.

Hi there and welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

I’m not a Processing guy, but I know that @amnon did some porting of his Processing Typography Examples to an openFrameworks’ versions.

There’s 2D, 3D, FBO using, image source, some addons and even exporting. And by having both sources (p5 and OF) you can easily compare.

And if you are new to C++, also check stackoverflow, of course. :smiley:

Have fun!

I myself transitioned to OF quite some time ago as well and used OF much more than Processing now (just personal preference). I remember they used to have a Processing transition guide although I couldn’t find it now…