Hello from Rotterdam, Holland

Hi,
I’m a highschool student doing his last year and as a project we’re trying to build a program that imports a videostream from a webcam, locates and calculates the position of the cursor and a red dot.
We’ve found an example program to help us set up the videostream grabber, but we can’t figure out how to manipulate it.

So we’ve asked for help and got an answer: we should use OpenFrameworks…
We’ve just started programming in VC++ and We’ve installed all the SDK’s (microsoft was included, but we installed DirectX SDK) but how do we install the OpenFrameworks? I can’t find an “install.exe” file or something like that…Please help, because I’ve seen some really usefull code in some examples! If I try compiling one of the examples I get error 1083…It can’t compile :frowning: I’ve linked all the libraries but it still doesn’t work!

Thanks in forward.
Svsoke

greetings!!

the latest version of visual studio (2008) isn’t supported yet, but 2005 is. Otherwise, you can use codeblocks (see openframeworks.cc/setup for info). we will support 2008 in future releases (and if you poke around the forum, you will see the modifications you need to make to get 2008 to work).

take care,
zach

Oh, that’s not very convenient :oops:
I’m quite new to this kind of programming so any usefull advice would be…usefull :stuck_out_tongue:

currently I’ve installed VC++ 08 , DirectX SDK, Microsoft SDK (included with VC++ 08 ) and desperately trying to get Openframworks working!

Greetz

I’m really sorry - for our part, it’s not convenient that microsoft makes all their compilers incompatible with each other. we just can’t support everything, and for 0.05 we didn’t have enough time to make the release compatible. we will for 0.06.

in the meantime, there are alternatives: