HD 720-1080p ofVideoPlayer performance

Hi guys!

I’m new with OpenFrameWorks. I created a project which loads and plays a 720p or 1080p (Quicktime) movie.

The problem is, when I display these HD movies in OpenGL, video stutters when complicated scenes are displayed. So I get like 10fps on complicated scenes with ofVideoPlayer on these HD movies.

Of course, also looking at my system specs, the file plays fine in Quicktime or Media Player Classic at full fps.

Are there any solutions to this problem? I already looked on the forum, but no simple solutions. At the bottom you will find a bit of sample code I use,

System specs:
Intel core i5 CPU @ 2.40GHz
4.00 GB ram
NVIDIA Geforce GT 330M 1GB
128 GB SSD
Windows 7 64-bit

Sample code (partly):

mov.loadMovie(“Bla720.mov”);
mov.play();

mov.getTextureReference().bind();

drawTexture(0,0,0,0);

void testApp::drawTexture(float x, float y, float w, float h, float tx, float ty, float tw, float th) {

GLfloat verts[] = { x,y, x+w,y, x+w,y+h, x,y+h };
GLfloat tex_coords[] = { tx,ty, tx+tw,ty, tx+tw,ty+th, tx,ty+th };

glEnableClientState( GL_TEXTURE_COORD_ARRAY );
glTexCoordPointer(2, GL_FLOAT, 0, tex_coords );
glEnableClientState(GL_VERTEX_ARRAY);
glVertexPointer(2, GL_FLOAT, 0, verts );
glDrawArrays( GL_TRIANGLE_FAN, 0, 4 );
glDisableClientState( GL_TEXTURE_COORD_ARRAY );

}

Hi Coolie,

if you’re working in windows, you might consider trying Gstreamer as your playback mechanism. see this thread: http://forum.openframeworks.cc/t/gstreamer-playback-under-windows/3610/0
If all you need to do is straightforward playback, you might see a major speed difference. I was able to get full-speed playback of my 1080p clips from my dslr. Mind you if you need to some heavier processing, like working on a pixel array, expect your playback speed to crawl right back down again.

[quote author=“drosen”]Hi Coolie,