GPU jpg decoding - for media server project

Hi there,

I’m a french visual artist, vvvv user, and total newbie to OF…
I have a project in mind, to develop an open / unlimited output / media server project:
Basically, I want to use cheap/tiny PCs to stream a video output to a projector, and I need to read JPG sequences with high performances.

I found these 2 libraries:

I’d love to know if it seems feasible to integrate these with OF, to build a high performance player…
If so, I’d love to start an open project if some of you are interested…

Best
Joanie

1 Like

Hey Joanie, that’s something that I, and I’m sure thousands of other people have been thinking about doing for years, but never got round to :smile:

I haven’t looked at GPU jpg decoding, but there is HAP, developed by VidVox / VDMX and Tom ‘bangnoise’ Butterworth

If you just want playback, tom’s example should get you running.

I always wanted to do something like this with frame accurate syncing over the network, and running on embedded systems like raspberry pi, beaglebone etc. So for dirt cheap you can have nodes to play multi-channel video, but I have no experience in embedded systems unfortunately.

EDIT
Not sure if HAP could be made to run on embedded systems btw. But perhaps photojpg quicktime could work?

Well, JPG is my favorite option because:

• you can replace parts of the content without re-encoding large files.
  • easy to distribute over network / replace frames, update parts…
  • easy to playback any chunk, loop, etc…
  • editing could be done via xml file (to rearrange frames, loop, duplicate etc…)

After trying several encoding options, JPG sequences seems to be the very best option (for me at least).

Each one of those are very valid arguments, I’m sold. + you could run it on raspberry pi too!

P.S. on http://www.ofxaddons.com/ you can find a bunch of image sequence addons which can act as a starter (using CPU jpg loading).
https://github.com/Flightphase/ofxImageSequence