Getting started with openFrameworks

Hi all,

I’ve decided to start working with openFrameworks. I have no prior experience with C++ and I am thinking about approaching it the hard way.

Does it make sense to learn the basic and advanced concepts behind C++ (from this book) and than move to OF, or should I jump straight on using OF, learning from online resources?

What was your approach to learn OF?

If you have any programming experience at all, I think it makes more sense to just start with OF itself and use it’s resources (books, examples, forum) and when needed google / stackoverflow for learning. A book about C++ comes second.

Personally I came from Processing, so I had a fairly solid background (Processing is similar to OF, Java is similar to C++, both use OpenGL and GLSL). I started by running all the examples and reading all the OF-specific books: Programming Interactivity by Joshua Noble, the two books by Denis Perevalov and the community ofBook. Currently I am almost 500 pages into C++ Primer to gain more understanding about C++. I would say that reading a C++ book is not required to get started with OF, but having knowledge of C++ might make your code better in the long run.

As far as I know, the main problem with C++ books is that they are almost exclusively targeted at computer science types. They are boring, reference-style textbooks. In short, they are motivation-killers. At least for Java (and many other programming languages), there were some Head First books, which are kind of fun to read. I’m already struggling for months to read the C++ book I mentioned, it’s just totally boring. Also, a general C++ book will have less direct practical use in an OF context. However, in defence, reading a general C++ book does give a broader and deeper understanding of several relevant topics.