Gesture recognition and animation

Hi all,

I am planning to make an interactive installation / video wall as a graduation project but I’m complete noob in programming. My idea is to make e.g. 4 different animations with After Effects and use them in an interactive installation that allows people to influence which animation plays using Kinect and gesture recognition. I’m wondering if I should buy Kinect 1 or 2? I know the basics of Processing but should I look into Processing or OpenFrameworks with this project? Also I would be extremely grateful for all kinds of tips on where to start! Thanks!

Hello!

This is a difficult question. I only just write my(!) opinion on this shortly, hoping it will help.
I myself switched from processing to openFrameworks because of speed mainly. Processing is slower than openFrameworks (although I heard that processing 3 has made quite a step in performance).
On the other hand, as much as I love openFrameworks, I think processing is much easier to understand for beginners. You open it, type and compile. So my a advise - for a “complete noob in programming” as you describe it - would be to get a computer with enough power and use processing.
Getting the kinect to run with processing or openFrameworks is quite easy. You should find a lot of examples and help. I did not use a kinect 2 yet, but be aware that you will need USB 3.0 for it. Also I’d strongly advise to search the web for examples and problems with kinect 2. Kinect 1 has been around for a long time, so you will find more help and examples, probably it’s the better choice, if you are a beginner. With a kinect 1 you should in any case get a model number 1414, not 1473. The latter is very difficult to get to work.

Good luck with your project!
oe

P.S.: If you want to get a bit deeper into the topic of kinect I can advise the book “making things see” by Greg Borenstein.