Generative Sound Synthesis in OF Core

I recently started playing around with the p5 Sound Library which I think does a great job of making the coding of rich audio synthesis quick and easy. I would love to see a similar sound library at the core of OF. What’s interesting to me is how different classes and their corresponding functions work not so much the fact that it’s use is for web audio. I literally just want to take all those classes and make the same thing for OF. I’m still new to c++ but would love any feedback on where I would even begin to maybe start writing such a library. Thanks in advance.

Judging from the classes, p5 is probably wrapping the Web Audio API, which is a pretty handy set of audio primitives and algorithms built into browsers. You could check out that document if you want a decent spec to conform to (assuming you’re mostly interested in the way it all fits together).

There are a few OF addons covering similar ground, handling audio primitives like waveform generation etc. ofxMaxim/Maximillian, ofxTonic and ofxStk are a few good ones. ofxAudioUnit will let you chain in AU plugins if you’re on OSX.

The general concept of chainable bits of audio code has been brought up for the OF core a few times, but the implementations haven’t really been mature enough for inclusion. If you’re interested in writing something like that I’d be excited to see where you go with it :smile:

Ok, so after this initial thought I put together a small addon called ofxGenSound. It’s mainly a starting point for how I envision what an implementation of synthesis methods in OF might look like. The example I included simply plays a tone with an envelope when any key is pressed, mouse x axis controls the frequency and the mouse y axis controls a filter cutoff. Would love to get some people in the community who would be interested in contributing to this one. I think it could be super useful in the future!