From 2d silhouette to 3d shape

Hi, everyone,
I’m pretty new to openframeworks. That’s, in fact, my first project with it.
My goal is to generate a deformable irregular 3d shape from a 2d shape drawn in live. Actually this shape, or silhouette, is being drawn marking points and extending ofCurveVertexs along them.
Because my purpose is to do a 3d mapping of different rounded shapes in a wall, first of all I trace their silhouettes.
What I’m needing now is to extrude them in a rounded way. If I get it, I will start with the deformations and 3d lights. I’m not in any way a 3d magician but that’s my purpose.
Does anyone know how should I try it? Which addon may help me? Any idea?
A lot of thanks in advance.
Rojele

Hi,
what do you mean by “extrude in a rounded way”?
First of all I´d recommend you to use ofPath (use if you want a filled shape) or ofPolyline (use if you want a line only) instead of ofCurveVertex as it will give you more flexibility and better performance.
check the following
http://openframeworks.cc/ofBook/chapters/lines.html
http://openframeworks.cc/ofBook/chapters/advanced_graphics.html
also check zach lieberman´s repos in particular

hope this helps.
cheers

Hi, Roy, thanks for answering!

Maybe the expression was not correct, not clear. What I’m referring with to “extrude in a rounded way” would significate to draw an ellipse for getting an ellipsoid. This example is a pretty exact one, in fact this conversion should work with handmade shapes,
Maybe the solution could be to draw ellipses of 1px in z axis orientation all along the shape with variable radius of length/2 of the shape in this specific pixel position. Maybe I’m not being clear again, I’m sorry. Any better idea, any useful addon?
Thanks for the links, Roy.

I not really understanding what you want to achieve. sorry.
maybe if you make a drawing and post it?
you might want to take a look at CGAL library. There are a few addons for using it. Look at these in ofxaddons.com