FreeImage_SaveToMemory to char array

Hello,

Does anyone knows a trick to save from FreeImage_SaveToMemory to a unsigned char array?

I want to compress an image from the vidgraber to jpg and send it over tcp and then draw on the other end.

thnx
Tasos

ofMemoryImage and the webscraper code. i think it does what you want, give it a try.

related post: http://forum.openframeworks.cc/t/problem-with-ofmemoryimage-and-threaded-web-scraper/1081/1

Hi, I tried to do the same thing, did anyone get it to work? I’m a c++ novice so here is what I tried to put together. I want to send a jpeg image stream to flash, I got it to work using the raw pixeldata but flash it too slow to handle all the data so I wanna send compressed frames now. would be happy if someone could point me in the right direction. thanks!

void compressImageStream(unsigned char * pixelData) {                  
        // open a memory stream, create a destination stream  
        // totalBytes=VIDEO_WIDTH*VIDEO_HEIGHT*VIDEO_BIT_DEPTH  

FIMEMORY *srcStream = FreeImage_OpenMemory(pixelData, totalBytes);  
        FIMEMORY *destStream = FreeImage_OpenMemory();  

// get the file type FREE_IMAGE_FORMAT   
        FREE_IMAGE_FORMAT imageFormat = FreeImage_GetFileTypeFromMemory(srcStream, 0);  

// load image from the memory handle   
        FIBITMAP *srcImageData = FreeImage_LoadFromMemory(imageFormat, srcStream, 0);  

// encode and save the image to the memory   
        FreeImage_SaveToMemory(FIF_JPEG, srcImageData, destStream, 0);  

// copy destinationStream into a local unsigned char pixels  
	memcpy(pixels, pixelData, totalBytes);  
}   

Hello,