Extending an extension ofBaseApp...

I’m a bit new at ofx/C++, but not at programming, in general (very experienced with C#, Java, VB, others). I’ve created my first real application, which is a lightweight, super fast blob tracker and it works great. My goal is to create an alternate base application that has blob tracking/calibration/etc built-in.

The app is called “Magnetic”, and I have a class called “ofxMagneticApp” in my “addons” folder. “ofxMagneticApp” extends “ofBaseApp”. When I extend testApp from ofxMagneticApp, it works fine. However, if define setup(), it crashes (crash is reportedly related to openCV). I’m using virtual void to define public methods (“ofxMagneticApp.h” has no “cpp” counterpart).

Works:

#ifndef _MAGNETIC  
#define _MAGNETIC  

#include "ofMain.h"  
#include "ofxMagneticApp.h"  

class Magnetic : public ofxMagneticApp  
{};  

#endif  

Doesn’t work (setup is defined in “Magnetic.cpp”)

#ifndef _MAGNETIC  
#define _MAGNETIC  

#include "ofMain.h"  
#include "ofxMagneticApp.h"  

class Magnetic : public ofxMagneticApp  
{  

public:  

// Override routines  
    void setup();  

};  

#endif  

Any ideas?

If I’m reading this right ofxMagneticApp.h looks like this?

ofxMagneticApp : public ofBaseApp {  
virtual void foo(){} // no reference to setup or any other baseapp methods  
}  

That should be fine, so I wondering if the problem is in ofxMagneticApp or in your new app that you’re creating? Can you post the actual error that you’re getting?

[quote author=“joshuajnoble”]If I’m reading this right ofxMagneticApp.h looks like this?

ofxMagneticApp : public ofBaseApp {  
virtual void foo(){} // no reference to setup or any other baseapp methods  
}  

That should be fine, so I wondering if the problem is in ofxMagneticApp or in your new app that you’re creating? Can you post the actual error that you’re getting?[/quote]