Driving a simulation through update of the frame time?

Hi,
I am quite new to Openframeworks so Sorry if my question seems a bit off or trivial.
What I am trying to do is to drive a simulation by updating frame_rate ofxEasycam object. I have included

ofSetFrameRate(FRAME_RATE);

into the setup() method and I want to update this frame_rate to start simulation/animation. In update() method I have added followings:

FRAME_RATE = ofGetFrameRate();
if (FRAME_RATE < 50){
    FRAME_RATE ++;
}

to update the frame_rate and eventually start the simulation but it seems to be not working and I have no clue how else I could do that.
So any hint/tip would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Hi,

What I am trying to do is to drive a simulation

Could you give more details about how do you want the program to behave? What do you mean with driving a simulation? Do you want the program to do A for a while, and later B?

If you only call ofSetFrameRate() inside setup it will never change, it will stay at whatever value FRAME_RATE had at that time (maybe 0?).

Of course! In core I want to simulate the motion of particles around a nuclei or a solar system where couple of sphere rotate another sphere. each planet/particle type has its own mass, position and velocity which are defined within particular class. The velocity and position update of planets/particles are already defined in planet.cpp and there is no need to update them in ofApp.cpp.
In short what I meant with drive is to initiate and carry out the simulation.
I hope this clear things up!?

It sounds very reasonable :slight_smile: But I don’t see the connection to FRAME_RATE from your initial example. Do you want the simulation to start as soon as the program starts? Or are you looking for a way to wait for user interaction?

In the first case you can declare the variables in the .h file, maybe initialize them inside setup, calculate motions etc inside update and finally draw everything inside draw.