Drawing into ofTexture

Hey everyone

I just started learning OF, coming from Flash and Processing and I’m very excited.

I’ve created an interface for a drawing program and now I want the user to be able to draw on an area of the screen. In Processing I would create a PGraphics object draw into this and then image(); the graphic object on screen every draw loop.

I’m a bit confused how to do it in OF. I know I need to have a pixels array, update pixel index on mousepress and loadDraw it into the ofTexture, but I really can’t make it happen.

Does anyone have any sample code or projects you can link to?

I’d like to draw a circle with 10px radius every draw loop when the mouse is pressed. I need to do it in a texture because I have the interface that needs to update the background continuously.

Thanks.

Hi

Funny, this is almost the same problem as this one ( http://forum.openframeworks.cc/t/offline-rendering-with-off/3253/0 ), so I’ll post the same answer:

I’m not sure, but maybe this will help you? ofxFBO http://forum.openframeworks.cc/t/ofxfbotexture/3143/0

cheers ph

FBO is definitely the way to go with this. You could use a texture but you’ll have to do a lot of manual pixel manipulation and it’ll most likely be pretty slow. FBOs are awesome, I had trouble getting my head around them when I first saw them but now I realize that they’re pretty simple and awesome. Basically an FBO is an alternative canvas that you can draw to using all of the OF/openGL commands and then just draw it to your main window anywhere anytime. I imagine if you’re doing a painting program you won’t want to erase the canvas every time unless someone hits clear, so you can set this up in ofxFBO as well.