Discussion of bringing improvements to openFrameworks

I began playing with OF about a year ago, and have a few observations I’d like to discuss. As a beginner, I was frustrated by a lot of dead ends and wasted time, so now that I’m not quite a beginner (though still pretty close), I’d like to try to help address some of those problems.

I want to stress that I do not in any way mean to be critical of any developers or people who have put in hard work for oF. I am only trying to help improve oF by compiling a wishlist of updates and changes, with the hopes that we can divvy up the work and get some cool stuff happening.

In general, these suggestions feel somewhat trivial taken one by one. However, I’d like to point out a difference I felt when learning Processing vs. learning openFrameworks. For some reason, I felt like I ‘got’ Processing much, much sooner than openFrameworks (I still don’t quite feel like I ‘get’ openFrameworks development). This could be a simple extension of the difference of the relative ease of Java vs. C++, but if we’re honest, there are some things we can do as a community to make openFrameworks easier for beginners.

Also, I want to make a note that I think there seems to be a specific need for documentation for people who are not quite beginners, but not quite experts either. In other words, people who have installed one of the IDEs and gotten a program to compile and run, but don’t know what to do next. Maybe they’ll learn to include an addon into a new project, but then it’s not clear just how cool openFrameworks can be. Perhaps a good set of offcial tutorials (much like the “Learning” section of Processing.org) would be helpful for this reason.