Detecting and Tracking a Red Ball From Live Video

I’m just getting started with OF. I think its really a pretty amazing framework. Thanks to everyone involved.

So anyway, on to my question. I am looking for a really nice way to track a red ball from the live video coming in from a web cam. Imagine you are standing in front of the camera holding a red ball in your hands moving it back and forth and up and down. I am looking for some ideas about how to best track the movements of the ball.

I’ve looked around the forums and looked through Google but just haven’t found anything exactly like this. Would anyone out there be so kind as to point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

You could probably just get away with a colour based detection method by the sounds of it.

Do you actually need ‘tracking’ or just ‘detection’? If there is only one ball and you probably don’t need to concern yourself with ‘tracking’ per say. A simple frame by frame detection process would probably suffice.

Also, it’s probably best to use HSV or YUV colourspaces as opposed to RGB since they have a dedicated ‘brightness’ channel which you can discard making it more robust to lighting changes.

hth

Thanks for the response mhax. For right now it would only be one ball. But I could easily imagine wanting to follow more than one.

I guess I’m not certain of the difference in terms of “detection” vs. “tracking” but I can say that what I would like to be able to do is follow the position of the ball around such that I have something like a bounding rectangle and a center point of the ball at any give point. Also I would like it to really be accurate and track fast movements.

If I just use color detection, what would happen if there were other red objects in the camera’s field? Would this give me the accuracy I need? If so, how would I even start going about detecting that? (I’m really really new to this)