CPU and drawing simple shapes ::: why so much ? ... and smooth fonts

Hi all OF lovers,

I have been working for a few years now with OF. It is really great, and we almost are able to do anything with it…

But i have two main problems with OF that i can not solve, and perhaps there is a good/simple solution.

The first is that drawing, say approx. 100 shapes (rectangles for example) makes the CPU (in my macbook pro from 2006) go to 70%. Using other apps, i can manipulate video, text, sound, etc. making intensive effects, having only around 50% of consumption. This difference is really huge. Only drawing a few shapes seems more intensive than extremely complicated loops, video rendering, math, sound, etc.
In my OF projects I have to use fbos, and only update them when a shape changes…

does anybody has the same problem?
is it because of my computer?
is it a “normal” problem?
any tricks to avoid that ?

The other problem is that fonts and shapes do not display in a smooth and antialiased way. I know all the workarounds that were pointed here (i think so), but none of them worked completely. With other programs (processng, etc.) i get perfect smoothness from the beginning.
This is really annoying, and if somebody has any suggestion about it, please tell me.

best,

miguel.
www.tangiblex.net

To get smoothness in your app,
Without an fbo
have you tried using window.setGlutDisplayString(“rgb double depth alpha samples>=4”);

with an fbo, have you tried upping the fbo samples to something like 4?

Hi Nick,
thanks for the replay.
Yes, i tried (in some projects) the code you show, and it works for some drawings. Still small fonts are not great when rotated, etc.
Also the problem with that code is that t depends on the gpu. Also for windows, it must be different and issues can come…

The second question you make, nop, i did not do that (as far as i remember, cause i tried so many things…). I will give it a try. Thanks.