Coordinate Transformation (from depth image or point cloud to surface)

Hi,

I have a depth image from a Kinect taken at an angle. I would like to have this data set as though the view were top-down. I think this is just a transformation from the actual POV (which is not known but can be derived from the data) to a virtual POV with the eye(s) directly above each point.

An OF user did this (or something similar) in the past and pointed to his code here: https://github.com/kylemcdonald/DohaInstallation/blob/master/addons/ofxVirtualCamera/ofxVirtualCamera.cpp

However, I’ve never coded OF before, my C/C++ is rusty, and this addon doesn’t seem to be supported (no example code, not install.xml, etc.)

Trying to dig through the API docs (I’m almost instantly lost) I did find RangeImage and it seems like this class might either be a place to start. I think inputs are point clouds not depth images, but if I can convert my depth image to a point cloud, then maybe RangeImage can do the transformation and output the desired result?

Any hints or advice on how to go about doing this would be much appreciated. I would like to perform this operation on tens of thousands of frames. I have no desire to display the results graphically, other code will take the output and do the analysis. It is just that the analysis can only be done if the data is acquired looking straight down.

Thanks,

-k.

Unless I’m misunderstanding, a lot of what you’re looking to do could be done by creating a mesh and rotating it? If that’s the case you can create an ofMesh instance, adding the vertices of all the points from the Kinect, and then either rotate the mesh, or using the ofCamera (or ofEasyCam) and set the view that way. Not sure if that’s helpful or just more confusing.