Converting code to Javascript with Emscripten

Hello All,

I recently finished my project and would like to convert my code to JavaScript so that I may embed my project in a website.

I’m trying to use the OpenFrameworks guide found here to transpile my code. I have successfully installed emscripten (I think) following the guides instructions using git.

Now when I open the git terminal in the project file, and run the command ‘emmake make’ the git terminal says “bash: emmake: command not found”

Anyone know whats wrong? Is the guide outdated? Is it not compatible with my setup?

I’m on a windows machine and the project was coded in Visual Studio 2019.

I’m very new to emscripten and git so its possible I made a rookie mistake that isn’t covered in the guide.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!!

Hi, I think that emmake comes with the install of emscripten. I am not sure if it will get installed in the git terminal or not. I’d say, first try to install emscripten on your system as it is recommended by them (emscripten people) and once you’ve gotten it to work try it with of. hope this helps somehow.

I’ve just tried that, unfortunately it didn’t work. I’m navigating to the folder and opening the git terminal like so (see attached):

. I think the issue might be that I’m not initializing / calling on the emscripten function / emsdk folder first? so when I type ‘emmake make’, the terminal has no idea what I’m talking about.

That or perhaps there is a windows equivalent command for the ‘emmake make’. I suspect the guide may have been written for Mac users.

Ok, so I think I was on the right path when I was talking about calling on the emsdk folder, when I enter the git terminal in emsdk directory, and then specify the folder and then try the “emmake make” command, I’m greeted with a different error message: “too many arguments” (see Attached).

Anyone know what I’m doing wrong?

you are trying to run 2 commands in a single line.