Collision Detection

Hi there,

I’m very new to C++ OF. I usually code AS3.0.
The reason for me to look into OF is due to performance reasons in flash.

I would like to have text on stage collision tested against each other.
Now in AS3.0 Grant-Skinner’s pixel perfect collision approach is pretty straight forward by simply drawing a textfield object into a bitmapData object, performing a bounding box test and , if true, blending those two bitmapData objects into a third. An alpha map then makes it fairly easy to figure out if objects are colliding or not.

:?: Is there a similar way of testing collision in OF?

Can anyone help me out on this?

Thx

Gabor

Hi,

I am new here as well, and I have the same background, so I will try my best to help.

Not sure if there is a similar technique in OF, I am sure it can be done, but how about using one of the physics addons? ofxBox2d for example? it has everything you need, I manage to get ofxBox2d up and running in no time, so you just have to worry on making your project pretty and not spend time in reinventing a collision detection code.

Well I recommend that but I am not sure if that will be the best way to go for your project, I can give you some source code (very basic) using ofxBox2d if you need it, so let me know.

Cheers
rS

Hey nardove,

thx for your reply.

Yeah, I have read about “Box2DFlash” a little.
I would then probably create a shape like a box for example and skin it with some texture, right? But could I then also collision detect that box, carrying my texture, against ofCircle (no Box2D body or shape) for example? I’d like to bounce off ofxContourFinder outline just like http://forum.openframeworks.cc/t/circle-to-circle-collisions-and-physics/2004/5

I will have another, more detailed look into Box2D now and will report back, if it suits my purpose.

I fear that adding effects to the texture (ie. onCollision or scaling) could prove difficult though.

What have you achieved with Box2D?

Cheers

g