Box 2d tutorials

Hi OFers
I’m still relatively new to OF (shifting up from Processing) and am finding my way for basic things but there are issues with syntax particularly around implementing Box 2D that I can’t seem to get. I’m a musician not a code head so while I am prepared to work at coding it would be great if I could have access to tutorials that explain code like:
circles.back().get()->setPhysics(6.0, 0.93, 0.1);

This is part of an example for ofBox2d. I’ve read Shiffman’s tutorials on Box2d looked at the Box 2d Manual and can’t find a reference to setPhysics. Nor can I get my head around how ofPtr is used in these examples. I’ve gone through the tutorials on references and pointers but a explanation of their specific use in Box 2d would save me days of head scratching and chin stroking. Are there any tutorials that might help me out?

Hi there, I’m new to OF too but I’ve spent some quality time with C/C++; it sounds like the issue you’re having is programming related rather than OF-specific. I suggest looking up some tutorials on accessors in C++ (like the dot and arrow operators) to understand what’s going on in code like this.

I can tell you about this specific line though, it’s basically a bunch of chained function calls:

“circles” is some kind of collection, probably a vector, which holds a bunch of “Circles.” back() is a function that is called on the circles vector, it returns a reference to the last element in the vector. get() is a function called on that last element, which from how it looks, returns a pointer to a single Circle. Finally setPhysics() is called on the pointer to the last Circle referenced in the vector, so now that Circle object’s internal data will have been modified based on whatever that function does.