Blackmagic Capture Card Ubuntu

Hello. I am trying to capture from a Blackmagic Decklink Mini Monitor 4k in Ubuntu under Qt Creator. I found the addons ofxBlackmagicGrabber and ofxDeckLink but the first one doesn’t come with examples and the second one seems to be coded for mac, so it asks for some dependencies that I don’t have. Does anyone have any experience with this? Thanks!

Hey, I had this working a while ago, it is a fork of kyle mcdonalds addon with a few changes

You can find it here

Works for ubuntu 18.0.4 with macbook pro hardware (thunderbolt capture) if your hardware is working with media express then this should work fine. Use the project generator or the update project wizard in qtcreator to add the addon.

Thanks a lot, I had some problems configuring the project with the qbs file but I think I got it now, I’ll try to use it and see what I can get.

Do you have an example that I could check maybe? I’m very new to programming in general and I get lost easily. Thanks!

There is an example in the repo.

cd to the openframeworks/addons folder on your machine
then run

git clone https://github.com/fred-dev/ofxBlackmagic

then make a new project with qtcreator, if you followed the install instructions you should have a wizard for creating or updating an openframeworks project, choose update and then navigate to the examples inside the addons folder (ofxBlackMagic_Capture_Example), continue through the process and you will have a project that should build fine.

Thanks again. I tested it and the console says the following:

[warning] ofGLRenderer: draw(): texture is not allocated
[warning] ofGLRenderer: draw(): texture is not allocated
[ error ] ofGLUtils: ofGetGLFormatFromPixelFormat(): unknown OF pixel formatOF_PIXELS_UNKNOWN, returning GL_LUMINANCE
[ error ] ofGLUtils: ofGetGLInternalFormatFromPixelFormat(): unknown OF pixel formatOF_PIXELS_UNKNOWN, returning GL_RGBA
[ error ] ofTexture: allocate(): ofTextureData has 0 width and/or height: 0x0