Best way to create vertices on a circle

Hi everyone,

First off, I am a super noob and I apologize for such a lame question…

I have been trying for hours to draw vertices on a circle that I can manipulate to change the circles shape.

So far… I have been using arc() and ofPolyline. When I set the arcs resolution super low I can see segments. Are those segments vertices I can use or do I need to create vertices on the arc itself? My draw code so far.

ofPolyline polyline1;
ofPoint point1(150,150);
ofCircle(point1, 5);

polyline1.arc(point1, 100, 100, 0, 360, 9);
ofSetColor(ofColor::blue);
polyline1.draw();

cout << &polyline1.getVertices();

Also, If anyone has a better suggestion on how to tackle this I would super appreciate it.

Thank you!

You are definitely on the right track with using arc. You can create a circle using arc, and yes, you can then modify the vertices after you create the circle. The vertices are what define those line segments. Every two consecutive vertices are connected to form a line segment. If you have points A, B, C and D as your vertices in a polyline, then you will have line segments A->B, B->C and C->D.

But a couple amendments to your code:

First, when printing out the vertices in your polyline, try this:

for (int i=0; i<polyline1.size(); i++) {
    cout << polyline1[i] << endl;
}

You can access the vertices of your polyline using the []. This gives you an easy way to both read and change vertices. The way you are doing it is only going to print out the memory location of the vertices in your polyline - something not very comprehensible.

Second, the way you are using arc won’t give you a connected circle. If you look at your vertices, you will see the first and last vertex are duplicates. Your last vertex doesn’t connect to your first vertex, so if you were to shift the vertices on your circle around, you might see something like this:

But I image you want to be able to deform your circle, so that the shape stays together: