background gradient

Hi everyone,
as a beginner I have some basic questions regarding OF
here it is one:
how I can set a gradient background of my window…
or how I can customize the background…
let say I want to have an animated water background?
besides the importing video
thanks!

to set a gradient background, you’ll have to create it manually.

there’s a couple of ways to do this. you could create a new ofImage on setup(), fill it with your gradient, and draw it each frame before drawing anything else. or, if you’re feeling fancy, you could create a quad that fills the whole screen using OpenGL, and set different vertex colours for the top and bottom points, so that OpenGL itself does the gradient for you:

// draw a quad that fills the whole screen, that is red at   
// the top and blue at the bottom  
glBegin(GL_QUADS);  
glColor3f( 1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f );  
glVertex3f( 0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f );  
glVertex3f( ofGetWidth(), 0.0f, 0.0f );  
glColor3f( 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f );  
glVertex3f( ofGetWidth(), ofGetHeight(), 0.0f );  
glVertex3f( 0.0f, ofGetHeight(), 0.0f );  
glEnd();  

either way will work.

as for animated water, you’ll need to do that by hand as well. it depends what you mean by ‘water’ but there’s a tonne of info out there, just google it. in particular if you can find some Java code to do it will be a straightforward task to port it to C++.

d

also, an alternative is to load in an image, and draw it full screen. Since textures are bilinearly interpolated, it can even be smaller then the screen size and scaling it doesn’t effect too much (I’ve drawn 320x240 and 640x480 fullscreen without feeling pain).

fullscreen drawing is done by using the ofImage.draw(x,y,w,h), as in:

myImage.draw(0,0,ofGetWidth(), ofGetHeight());