Array in class causing exc_bad_access... pointer issue?

I’ve isolated an error to an array of floats I create in a class “sinOscillator”. When the class is instantiated by itself, it works just fine. When I create an array of the same class, I get an EXC_BAD_ACCESS error. If I remove the array of floats from the class, I do not receive the error.

I’m new to C++, but from poking around it sounds like a memory / pointer issue I don’t comprehend yet.

Here is the sinOscillator.h that has the offending array volumeEnvelope:

class sinOscillator{  

public:  

void	setup();  
	void	setFrequency(float newFrequency);  
	void	setVolume(float newVolume);  
	void	addToSoundBuffer(float * buffer, int bufferSize);   

float  volumeCurrent;  
	float  volumeTarget;  
	float  frequency;  

float	* volumeEnvelope;  

};  

…and the setup function that initializes the float array:

void sinOscillator::setup(){	   
	volumeCurrent	= 0.1f;	  
	volumeTarget	= volumeCurrent;  

volumeEnvelope	= new float[88200];  

for (int i = 0; i < 88200; i++) {  
		volumeEnvelope[i] = volumeCurrent;  
	}  

setFrequency(440);  
	setVolume(0.1);  
}  

Again, when the sinOscillator class is used by itself, no problems. But if I make an array of sinOscillators, I get the EXC_BAD_ACCESS error. Without volumeEnvelope there is no error.

I’m guessing this is a pointer issue. What am I doing wrong?

Found the answer. The ‘Dynamic Arrays’ section of this-page explains what I was doing wrong.

Okay, I take it back. I’m still clueless here. I tried making constructors, but I can’t seem to get this right. Could someone explain why making single instances of my sinOscillator class would work, but making an array of them would consistently get me the EXC_BAD_ACCESS error?