App no longer opens on other OSX machines

Hello again all,

Help
I have an app that I have been working on for 2+ years for OSX - I host it on my website as a zip file for download.

Since I’ve moved to OF v11, when I (or anyone else) tries to download and run the app, I get the following message:

app is damaged and can’t be opened. You should move it to the Trash.

How can I fix this? Is it code signing related??

Sam

Hi, which version of macOS are you on?

You might need to disable code signing as described here:

I think if you are signing the app for development ( which is the default now ) it might error on other machines.

Going forward if you want to distribute your Mac App ( and even currently if you don’t want warnings when users open it ) you’ll need to sign the app for distribution ( and starting in 10.15 notarize it too ).

hey, thanks for the reply…

I’m on Mojave, 10.14.6; but others who use the app are on 10.15 as well I think.
Is there a (idiot proof) guide to signing an app and notarising it in OF? I’m totally new to all of that

S

edit: I don’t think it is the linked issue, I’ve tried that and I still get the warning. I think it is probably Gatekeeper blocking the app from running because of signing, which I’m a bit lost on how to do properly.

I think it is all covered here:
https://developer.apple.com/developer-id/

It is the same for OF and any other app made in Xcode.

thanks… I think!
Seems quite a bit beyond what I am familiar with.

edit: (having read up) Am I right to think that I have to pay ££ to Apple in order to get a developer membership, or it is no dice?

@Sam_McElhinney_io

Yes, sadly as things currently stand from 10.15 onwards ( after an update in Jan 2020 ) you will need to pay Apple $99 a year to distribute outside of the AppStore.