Animating Points within ContourFinder

Hey guys! I’m new to OF and playing around with contour finder and ofxCV. I want to make points move around inside the contour, and am slightly confused how to get the points or do that. Do I need a convex Hull? For now I have this in draw:

int n = contour.size();
for(int i = 0; i < n; i++) {
ofPoint center = toOf(contour.getCenter(i));//center point of contour
double area = contour.getContourArea(i);//area of contour
ofPolyline polyline = contour.getPolyline(i);
auto vertices = polyline.getVertices();
for (int p=0; p<100; p+=1) {
ofVec3f point = polyline.getPointAtPercent(p/500.0);
ofDrawCircle(point, 2);

For now, a contour outlined with dots appear. However, I am not sure how to make the dots move or bounce around inside the contour, and am not sure if that’s how I get the contour extremes/points? I know how to make a polyline but am not sure how to get the points for it, I’m guessing I need a points class too?

Would appreciate any help, thank you!

1 Like

Hi, do you want to move those circles along the contour or do you want to have the moving “randoml” inside the contour? can you add some visual reference please for what you want to achieve?
As for movign these along the contour you can do something like

float speed = .4;
	float t = ofGetElapsedTimef() * speed;
	int numPoints = 10;
	for (int i=0; i<numPoints; i++) {
		ofDrawCircle(polyline.getPointAtPercent( ofWrap(t + i/(float)numPoints,0,1)), 2);
	}

Thank you so much for you reply! I was thinking of the circles to move randomly inside the contour.

So the points will move inside the contours of the hand. The image below is the circles moving along the contour.

This is a reference from friendred studio

I am not sure how you access the points of the contours without getting a polyline.