Android GPS Example?

Hi,

I’m referencing this library (and it’s related C++ calls) for OFAndroid (@arturo @tallavi)

PG 609 of this book mentions that to use the GPS I have to call ofRegisterGPSEvent() in my setup function. However, the ofRegisterGPSEvent() function as implemented needs some pointer to a Listener ofRegisterGPSEvent(Listener * listener)

What parameters would should I put in this function to call it in setup? Can anyone share a quick example of registering the listener in the app and doing some action when the event is triggered?

I’m new to Of/C++ so hope I’m not asking a stupid question here :wink:

1 Like

Hey raspy!

You need to have a method in your ofApp class that looks like this:

void locationChanged(ofxLocation& location) {

//TODO: handle location change

}

And you register by giving a pointer to your class:

ofRegisterGPSEvent(this);

Sorry I haven’t provided a full example. You are more than welcome to ask more questions.

BONUS: explanations on how to understand this stuff yourself. Look at the method in ofxAndroidGPS.h. It’s a template method that helps you register the event:

template<class Listener>
void ofRegisterGPSEvent(Listener * listener){
	ofAddListener(ofxAndroidGPS::locationChangedE,listener,&Listener::locationChanged);
}

It uses ofAddListener to register your object as a receiver to the ofEvent. ofEvents are used frequently. They are implementation of the publish/subscribe pattern. If you are unfamiliar with it, google it.

ofAddListener works like this:

ofAddListener([event to register], [target object to notify when the event is called], [target method]).

So this helper method just takes one argument, the object, and “assumes” that the class will have a locationChanged method. See how it maps “Listener” to the second parameter and “Listener::locationChanged” to the third parameter.

Hope it helps!