AGEIA Addon

Hello openFrameworks community.

I would really like to see an AGEIA Physics addon. Would anyone else be interested in a physics engine in OF?

I am a java programmer and use c++ when something isn’t available in Java. For this reason I am not likely to be able to write the addon myself (in the near future). However, I would like to help someone who is a bit more experinced.

It would be great to get feedback how many people would like a physics engine and how many would like to help write it.

Seems the post bellow you is also asking for a similar thing.

Something like this?
http://www.cs.princeton.edu/%7Etraer/physics/

Or are you after full hardcore game like physics?

Theo

For full scale physics in java the best bet would be…

http://odejava.org/OdejavaIntro

However with my first test using ODE I managed to produce impossible situations and the consensus seems to be that ageia is of much better quality.

There are no AGEIA java bindings available, so I would like to use it with openframeworks.

Basically I would like to generate 3d forms through user interaction and have these forms behave as they would in a real physical environment.

were quite happy to take a look once we get through the first round of addons that we’re working on – I have seen OF integrated with ODE (flatland - for 2d) so it must not be too hard to link it to other physics engines, and I will ask the folks that did it with IDE at least if they can post it online, perhaps it will be a helpful starting point for thinking about physics / OF…

thanks!
zach

hmm, i would really love to see dynamics integrated into OF. but i also think OF should concentrate first on offering a clean, stable, rock-solid base API!