Adapting WebGL to OpenGL

Hi everyone,

I come to you today because I have to adapt a WebGL/javaScript program onto OpenGL, for stability reasons. The program is meant to work in quite long during installation (like, 10-15 hours per day) and doing this on the browser is Just So Crappy.

Problem is, I’m a visual artist and I’m always learning and working at the same time, but I do not have so much time for developing. In this project, I managed only the javascript on basis of existing shaders and webgl programs. It is actually more patchwork than programming…

So now I have five shaders a lot of functions made with javascript methods for WebGL that I have to bring in OpenFrameworks. I’m quite confused with ofx, because all OpenGL’s tutorials I find around always do mention of GLEW, GLUT or another library, and I don’t know where I should begin. I often see questions about bringing OpenGL to WebGL (there’s apparently a whole library about), but never the opposite.

If interested, there is the project will all code if you inspect
http://www.juliekerndonck.be/online/a-quiet-world-onlineversion.html

The GL program generates waves above a video texture, and the shaders use them as error diffusion for dithering it in real time.

If someone has some experience with similar case, I would be glad to know it!

good afternoon ++

I have been working on the same thing, generally trying to bring shadertoy code (built using webgl) into open frameworks.

This is a small example of how I accomplished this, so far. https://github.com/nosarious/Shader-test

This does not use any outside libraries and for convenience sake I have used the shader code inside the setup part of the openframeworks program instead of separate files. The passing of variables should be quite clear, and how they are used within each of the shaders.