Absoulte beginner questions

Hello to everyone !

I just came across this awesome creation while searching for ideas for my c++ project. A friend forwarded me here to get amused.

I wish to do something using OF for my C++ project however I need to get some doubts cleared.
I searched around your website but couldn’t find any Getting Started guide.

anyway,
a little bit about me. I’m a post graduation student. I’m a fairly experienced .NET developer… never really worked in C++ but I can make it to work. No issues with the language or graphics concepts etc.

First thing I would like to know is, do I have to have special hardware to build interactive software ? Its kind of limiting environment I’m in. I can get a projector and cameras but not much of fancy sensors. Touch screen/device is out of question as well.
I checked few videos and all of them required some different kind of hardware… [whats used for Magic Torch thingi ?]

then there’s limited Time. I must manage it before ~15th November. and thats not dedicated time. I’ll be having regular 9am to 4pm college + writing assignments etc. I am aware that answer is relative, still, how much time do you think one fair programmer should need ? [right, will be doing this alone]

Thats very much for now.

Thank You

Hi!

It always depends on what you want to do. A projector is always recommended, also a webcam or cam is needed very often (PS3 Eye is cheap + good + can be modded easily).

From what I guess you mean that video:
http://vimeo.com/1333176

I guess that he used a modded cam that only captures infraled light and an infrared torch.

[quote author=“omie”]
then there’s limited Time. I must manage it before ~15th November. and thats not dedicated time. I’ll be having regular 9am to 4pm college + writing assignments etc. I am aware that answer is relative, still, how much time do you think one fair programmer should need ? [right, will be doing this alone]

Thats very much for now.
Thank You[/quote]