A question from studying Example using Mesh

Hello, I’ve recently become interested in mesh, so I’m studying while looking at examples of openframeworks.

One of the examples is a code that gives index to vertex.

int width = vidGrabber.getWidth();
int height = vidGrabber.getHeight();

//add one vertex to the mesh for each pixel
for (int y = 0; y < height; y++){
	for (int x = 0; x < width; x++){
		mainMesh.addVertex(glm::vec3(x,y,0));													
		mainMesh.addColor(ofFloatColor(0,0,0));  
	}
}

for (int y = 0; y<height-1; y++){
	for (int x=0; x<width-1; x++){
		mainMesh.addIndex(x+y*width);				// 0
		mainMesh.addIndex((x+1)+y*width);			// 1
		mainMesh.addIndex(x+(y+1)*width);			// 10

mainMesh.addIndex((x+1)+y*width);			// 1
		mainMesh.addIndex((x+1)+(y+1)*width);		// 11
		mainMesh.addIndex(x+(y+1)*width);			// 10
	}
}

There’s something I’m curious about in this code.

1. Why are we doing “y<height-1” instead of “y<height”?

2.I don’t know why there are patterns of 0, 1, 10 and 1, 11, 10 in the process of giving index to vertex.
I’m curious about the mathematical reason why you get that pattern by multiplying your width.

I’d appreciate it if you could answer.

Hi,

You’re effectively defining two triangular mesh faces per loop iteration. For that you need to pair the right indices of three vertices defining each face.

Screenshot 2021-10-02 at 11.45.28

Iterating by y, then by x, means going row by row.

Since you’re always looking ahead to find the next vertex in the appropriate row and column, you can’t really iterate the full width or height. Otherwise, you’d overshoot and end up with a weird, superfluous pair of faces (red) at the end of each row.

2 Likes