.3ds data which is exported from Shade 3D cannot be loaded

Dear,

I’m a Newbie of oF. I am helped a lot from this forum. But the topic I would like to know is not posted by anyone so I’m writing this.

Now I’m trying to load 3ds data which is exported from Shade 3D, using ofx3DModelLoader.
At first, this data is .stl and made by Photoshop. This .stl is converted to 3ds by Shade 3D to load by oF.

It seems that code is okay because I could succeed to load other simple 3ds model data which I found in a certain website.

But it seems the 3ds and stl model what I really would like to load by oF also looks okay because it can be imported to other some 3d modeling soft(Meshlab).

I still can’t find where the problem is… Could you please let me know if you have come up with anything about this issue.

Thanks,
Kenji

i had this kind of issue sometime with 3DSModelLoader Addon. My problem was that i didn’t assign a material. could be aslo a problem with normals, if you can import it in Meshlab try different filters. Also you do not mention in which you are working (windows, mac, linux, Andoid…) could be myabe related to a bug in the addon. And finally why don’t you use ofxAssimpModelLoader? you can also import .3ds models with, and a lot of other formats.

Hello Kalwalt,

Thanks for your reply.

Actually I don’t have much experience to handle any 3D model but do I need to something by Meshlab? What I did by Mesh lab is import stl and export stl model as 3ds… Then, about my environment, I use Mac OS 10.9.1, Xcode 5.0.2, and openFrameworks 0.8.0 (everything is latest so I have a little tough time of it.)

About AssimpModelLoder, I could find so I’m gonna try in parallel with it.

Maybe the problem is not the model. Are you sure that is not loaded or only is not displaing? Adding in setup()

ofSetLogLevel(OF_LOG_VERBOSE);

you can see in the console, if the model is loaded or not. Sometimes most of the errors is typo in the name.